Mavs Success Story

By Bich Ngoc on Jun 04, 2024

The Dallas Mavericks, commonly known as the Mavs, are a professional basketball team based in Dallas, Texas. Competing in the NBA as part of the Southwest Division in the Western Conference, the Mavericks play their home games at the American Airlines Center, which they share with the NHL's Dallas Stars.

In the 1980s, the Mavericks were regular playoff contenders, led by All-Stars Rolando Blackman and Mark Aguirre. However, the 1990s were a period of struggle and rebuilding for the team. The turning point came in 1998 with the acquisition of Dirk Nowitzki, who became the cornerstone of the franchise's most successful era. Under his leadership, the Mavericks reached their first NBA Finals in 2006 and won their only NBA championship in 2011.

As Nowitzki's illustrious career neared its end, the Mavericks entered another rebuilding phase, missing the playoffs from 2017 to 2019. Nowitzki retired after a record-breaking 21 seasons with Dallas, but the team's fortunes quickly improved with the addition of Luka Dončić, who was named the 2019 Rookie of the Year. The Mavericks returned to the playoffs in 2020, made it to the Western Conference Finals in 2022, and reached their third NBA Finals in 2024.


See the newest styles of Mavs jerseys HERE 

PreviousMiami Dolphins DB Jordan Poyer is wearing number 21

Related articles